Planning To Sell Your Macbook? Here Are The Steps You Need To Take

Generally, there are two reasons why a person would sell Macbook:

  1. It is outdated and facing issues such as battery draining, random shutdowns or malware.
  2. To get some extra cash.

Nonetheless, in both scenarios, it is essential that you wipe every information saved in the system. Obviously, you don’t want anybody else to access your personal data. Moreover, it is also a crucial security measure that you must take before selling the device.

So, here are the steps that you need to take:

Create backup

First things first, you need to create a backup of all the data stored in your system. It will come in very handy when you are shifting to the new Macbook. You can do it very easily by using the time machine software. You need to get an external HDD drive for this.

Go to system setting > Turn time machine active > Select the device > click create backup button.

That’s it! Now, your backup has been created, which you can easily restore whenever required.

Sign out/ Deauthorize from iCloud, iTunes, and iMessage

The next step is to sign out your Apple ID from every application. Before signing out, make sure you remember the ID and password accurately. Otherwise, things might get complicated later on.

  • For iCloud:
Read More  How a Financial Advisor Help In Our Daily Life?

Go to Apple menu > System Preferences > click iCloud > click Sign Out.

  • For iMessage:

Open the application > Preferences > Click iMessage > Click Sign Out.

  • For iTunes:

Select Account > Authorizations > Deauthorize This Computer.

After that, you need to enter your Apple ID and password and click Deauthorize.

Reset NVRAM

After signing out from every account, you need to clear the user settings from memory. But, before you do that, make sure to delete your files (All of them) from the Mac. As you have already created a backup of all the important files, you don’t have to worry about losing any vital data.

  • To clear the user setting:

Shut down the device and then turn it on. As soon as it turns on, press and hold “Option,” “Command,” “P,” and “R” keys together for 20 seconds. It will help in clearing user settings and also restores some security features.

Restore Mac to factory setting

Lastly, you need to restore your Macbook to its factory settings. To do this, you need to format the hard drive and then reinstall the macOS. After the installation process is complete, the system setup will ask for information about the country or region. DO NOT fill in any information. Instead, shut down your system (press command+Q to do that).

Read More  How to Enable Dark Mode in Chrome for Android

That’s all; now, your device is new and ready to be sold.

Optional:

Unpair Bluetooth devices

It is an optional step, but it can help in preventing accidental inputs. To unpair your Bluetooth devices:

Choose Apple Menu > System Preferences > click Bluetooth > Select the device you want to unpair > click the remove (x) button.

Following the process mentioned above will ensure that your device is safe to use for the new owner. You will also have peace of mind that your information is protected.

Leave a Comment